Producers Guild of America Announces Film, TV Award Nominations Album

With awards season heating up this chilly winter, the Producers Guild of America announced its nominations for the best films and television shows of 2017.

In the film category, 11 movies received nominations, indicating there was a tie for the first time in the PGA’s history. The list includes Oscar frontrunners “Call Me By Your Name,” “Lady Bird,” “The Shape of Water,” and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing.”

The PGA nominations almost always mirror the eventual Oscar nominations, though its winner isn’t as predictive (last year, “La La Land” won the PGA, while “Moonlight” won the Oscar).

Among the TV nominees are the Emmy-winning “Handmaid’s Tale” and “Big Little Lies,” as well as comedies “Master of None” and newcomer “Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.”

Here’s the full list of PGA nominees:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

“The Big Sick”
Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel

“Call Me By Your Name”
Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito

Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan

“Get Out”
Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele

“I, Tonya”
Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley

“Lady Bird”
Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill

“Molly’s Game”
Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson

“The Post”
Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger

“The Shape Of Water”
Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh

“Wonder Woman”
Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

“The Boss Baby”
Producer: Ramsey Naito

Producer: Darla K. Anderson

“Despicable Me 3”
Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson

“The Lego Batman Movie”
Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

“Big Little Lies” (Season 1)
“The Crown” (Season 2)
“Game of Thrones” (Season 7)
“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Season 1)
“Stranger Things” (Season 2)

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

“Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Season 9)
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Season 1)
“Master of None” (Season 2)
“Silicon Valley” (Season 4)
“Veep” (Season 6)

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

“Black Mirror” (Season 4)
“Fargo” (Season 3)
“FEUD: Bette and Joan” (Season 1)
“Sherlock: The Lying Detective”
“The Wizard of Lies”

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

“30 for 30” (Season 8)
“60 Minutes” (Season 50)
“Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” (Season 9, Season 10)
“Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath” (Season 1, Season 2)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

“Full Frontal with Samantha Bee” (Season 2)
“Jimmy Kimmel Live!” (Season 15)
“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (Season 4)
“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” (Season 3)
“Saturday Night Live” (Season 43)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

“The Amazing Race” (Season 29)
“American Ninja Warrior” (Season 9)
“Lip Sync Battle” (Season 3)
“Top Chef” (Season 14)
“The Voice” (Season 12, Season 13)

The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

“Better Call Saul’s Los Pollos Hermanos Employee Training” (Season 1)
“Carpool Karaoke” (Season 1)
“Humans of New York: The Series” (Season 1)
“National Endowment for the Arts: United States of Arts” (Season 3)
“Viceland at the Women’s March” (Season 1)

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

“All or Nothing: A Season with the Los Angeles Rams” (Season 2)
“Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers” (Season 12)
“Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel” (Season 23)
“SportsCenter with Scott Van Pelt” (Season 3)
“VICE World of Sports” (Season 2)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

“Doc McStuffins” (Season 4)
“Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2017”
“School of Rock” (Season 3)
“Sesame Street” (Season 47)
“SpongeBob SquarePants” (Season 10, Season 11)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

“Chasing Coral”
Producers: Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes

“City of Ghosts”
Producer: Matthew Heineman

“Cries from Syria”
Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor, Aaron I. Butler

“Earth: One Amazing Day”
Producer: Stephen McDonogh

*This film is still in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility this year.

“Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower”
*This film is still in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility this year.

“The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee”
Producers: Teddy Kunhardt, George Kunhardt

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *